Cyberpunk, Spirituality and Technology - The Voidspace Blogspot

The strange and deluded ramblings of a rather odd person. Hello Dude - It's Me

Please Fasten Your Seatbelts

And Loosen Your Clothing

 

 

These pages are all my own work. Unfortunately that may be a terrible admission. In these pages are various writings of mine, from the first part of my life story, to poems, to mad ramblings without excuse. Below the links to the articles is my blog. Not to be confused with the Techie Blog, this is random ramblings from life.

Rambling Rumination

Diving or Drowning Part I. The first part of my Autohagiography... up to the point where I first take ecstacy. The tale of how a polite, well mannered middle-class child became such a ruffian.....

Diving or Drowning Part II. The second part of my life story - the further fall....

Life in Romania. An article about living in Romania. This follows two visits in 2004 and 2005 to visit my wifes parents. Life is very different in Romania than it is here in Britain.

A Random Assortment. A short collection of my poetry. There's one or two gems buried in here.

HumanOS v1.3. Subtitled baby crocodiles, computers and the human personality. This is an article that compares the human mind to a computer operating system. It touches on artifical intelligence and the ages old Nature versus Nurture debate.

Christian Meditation. A short piece on Christian meditation - exploring living Spirituality with God.

Imagine Paradise. No its not about a large network of computers, its actually about Christian Community..... and why we bother.

The first is an article on the spiritual power of symbols and sacraments. The second one, is on what sort of truth we can expect to find in the bible - with a brief section providing one possible reconciliation between modern science and Genesis. They should both be understandable by 'beginners' to the subjects.

Quick 'n' Dirty HTML. Need to get a webpage up quick and never done any HTML before ? This article will get you up to speed with the basics, using a TABLE for layout. Not for those who want nice, standards compliant, XHTML and CSS...

Voidspace Story. My cyberpunk short story. Lovely imagery but very short *sigh*. Come and play in the Void !

Beginners Guide to Atlantis. My beginners guide for new players of Atlantis - the computer 'Play-by-eMail' game. Very useful if you`ve just started to play.

#30

Being Open

emoticon:exclaim Oops, I nearly forgot to mention. You all have to come to our Jesus Centre Open Day. It's on Saturday May 21st 10am till 4pm [1].

Northampton Jesus Centre

I'm still finalising the program, but we hope it will include a Liberian Drumming Team, the Jesus Army Dancers [2], and Funkmeister Jez and the Jammers. We will also have a display of African Crafts and a photo exhibition from local groups - as well as representatives from local community groups present.

The focus from our point of view though, is letting local people know about the range of activities that go on at the Jesus Centre. We have about forty different activities and groups that happen on a regular basis. We'll have taster sessions for several of the groups - including ESOL, English with IT, Creative Workshop [3], Expressive Art, Knowing Me - Knowing You [4], New Searchers [5], Creative Sewing, Parenting, Evolution Guitar [6], and last but not least Healing Rays [7]. Phew, I don't think I forgot any of them.

Anyway - spread da' word ! Wink

[1]Northampton, England.. Smile
[2]I wish I had a better name for them, they're very lively and very good
[3]Self Expression through drama
[4]A personal development group for women
[5]A bible study group for new Christians
[6]Learning the guitar - from beginners to rock school !
[7]Prayer for healing

Like this post? Digg it or Del.icio.us it.
Posted by Fuzzyman on 2005-05-12 18:23:18 | |
Categories:


#29

Agony and Ecstasy

emoticon:cross I'm now cycling home [1] three times a week. This is a basic attempt to avoid slipping into decrepitude at the advanced age of 30 years old. I've been doing it now for almost as long as two weeks, and am greatly appreciating. I get to spend some time outside, I'm starting to feel the physical benefits, and I salve my battered conscience about my sedantry computerised lifestyle.

The fourth journey brought about an interesting [2] revelation. Despite being very out of shape, I'm blessed with relatively good health. My body creaks around the edges a bit, I had a minor operation last year, get the odd cold - but nothing serious. I'm very lucky. In this kind of condition it's easy to be mentally isolated from the suffering that other people do go through.

When I got home the other day I was exhausted. Obviously I didn't do any warm up or warm down [3] exercises. When I collapsed on my bed a cramp slowly to started to spread through my calf. After a few seconds it was unbearable and had me writhing in agony. It felt like my calf was trying to tear itself apart. I haven't felt anything like that for years.

I don't know what I'd have done if it had got any worse - it was right on the threshold of what I could cope with. It seemed to last for ages, but was probably only a minute. Now okay, I'm a wuss when it comes to pain - whether it's physical or mental - and this isn't a character trait of mine that I admire. It's nice to be confronted by reality - even if it's in an unpleasant way.

The suffering of Christ, to take a random example, was incomparably greater. The Romans were expert torturers, and crucifixion was a particularly gruesome way to die. Now what God has called me to is obviously very different to the path he took. But he does call me to suffer, even if it's not physical pain it's in a dying to my own self life - to my own selfishness. And just like the physical pain, I'm not very good at it. It's also a reminder of what many people experience on a pretty much constant basis, and how much I do have to be grateful for.

It's not that unusual of course. Every soldier or athlete is used to making sacrifices for what they believe in, what they've dedicated themselves to. In my case [4], it's the cause of Christ I've dedicated myself to. I think this is what Jesus meant by Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. [5] It's not just a case of being willing to die for a cause, but really being willing to live for it, and lay down your priorities, your comforts, your rights.

The fruit of this of course is in strength of character - but not just that, together we see the church built. That's not some ephemeral, incorporeal, church that we see built - but we see the real church around us grow, as we lay down our lives together. We with tears, together, build the new creation.

After a couple of days my calf is now fine - and I do feel fitter from the cycling.

[1]About six miles, if you must know. Laughing
[2]but relatively minor
[3]or whatever the heck you call it....
[4]and many others like me....
[5]John 15 : 13

Like this post? Digg it or Del.icio.us it.
Posted by Fuzzyman on 2005-05-12 18:04:14 | |
Categories: ,


#28

The Halls of Science, Technology, Computers, and Stuff

The first section of my website rendered with rest2web is now online !

See Welcome to the Halls of Science, Computing, and Technology.

In the next few days this section will replace the Science and the Computer sections.

Like this post? Digg it or Del.icio.us it.
Posted by Fuzzyman on 2005-05-10 10:32:28 | |
Categories:


#27

Cyberpunk Aint Dead Yet

emoticon:cyberpunk Rumours of the death of cyberpunk are at least slightly exaggerated. I've just received an email about a new book, called Wired for Chaos.

From the Publisher: In the tradition of NEUROMANCER and SNOW CRASH we present, WIRED FOR CHAOS. It is badass science fiction, a thriller, a hard-boiled, kickass page-turner where no one is innocent. In a world where street cams, chips imbedded in your clothes and all manner of surveillance keep tabs on your every move--try running for your life.

It certainly sounds interesting. If I hear any more I'll let you know.....

Like this post? Digg it or Del.icio.us it.
Posted by Fuzzyman on 2005-05-09 08:42:28 | |
Categories:


#26

Corruption at the Heart of Voidspace

emoticon:warning Once again the worm has struck...

O Rose thou art sick,
The invisible worm that flies in the night
In the howling storm
Has found out thy bed of crimson joy
And his dark secret love, does thy life destroy.

Corruption has struck at the heart of Voidspace... or at least two of the lovecraft zip files were corrupted. Thanks to Phil Tegg for letting me know. The problems have been corrected.

(For those who are interested The Sick Rose, William Blake (1757-1827)... by the way)

Like this post? Digg it or Del.icio.us it.
Posted by Fuzzyman on 2005-05-09 08:42:09 | |
Categories:


For buying techie books, science fiction, computer hardware or the latest gadgets: visit The Voidspace Amazon Store.

Hosted by Webfaction

Counter...


Voidspace: Cyberpunk, Technology, Fiction and More

IronPython in ActionIronPython in Action

Search this Site:
 
Web Site
Blogads

Follow me on:

Twitter

Del.icio.us

Shared Feeds

Hosting for an agile web